vinafert.blogg.se

Play sounds in java
Play sounds in java









play sounds in java
  1. Play sounds in java how to#
  2. Play sounds in java mac os x#

Note the use of the wait( ) and notify( ) methods to make streamMidiSequence( ) into a modal method that does not return until the sound has finished playing.

play sounds in java

PlaySoundStream is a console-based application with no GUI. It demonstrates streaming techniques for both sampled audio and MIDI data, and also demonstrates a transcoding technique for converting unsupported encodings (such as ALAW and ULAW) into PCM encoding so they can be played. Example 17-4 is a listing of PlaySoundStream, a program that plays streaming audio data read from the specified URL. In exchange for reduced memory consumption, we lose the ability to easily jump to any position within the sound, of course. Instead, these files are typically played in streaming mode so that only the portion of the sound that is currently playing must reside in memory.

Play sounds in java mac os x#

If you'd like the complete source code for this Java "play sound file" application, along with the Ant build script that is used to build the application on a Mac OS X system, it's available here as my free, complete Java Mac (Swing) application.Sound files, especially sampled audio files in the uncompressed PCM format, are quite large, and, except for the shortest audio clips, it is not generally a good idea to read the entire file into memory. Java Sound Resources (jsresources), which looks like a terrific Java Sound site.In the meantime, here are a few great Java sound file links I've discovered on this short journey: As I've tried to find more Java sound examples, and the Javadoc for the classes I used above, I see there's a javax.sound package that may have power than these classes, while using these two classes seems very simple. Java sound/audio APIĪs I mentioned, I'm just learning about the Java Sound/Audio API capabilities, but it's interesting that these classes come from the sun.audio package (instead of something like a java.sound package). If (debugFileWriter!=null) e.printStackTrace(debugFileWriter) Īs you can see from that Java code, after I retrieve the sound file from my jar file, the process of playing the sound file is the same in this code as it was in my earlier example. a special way i'm handling logging in this application InputStream inputStream = getClass().getResourceAsStream(SOUND_FILENAME) ĪudioStream audioStream = new AudioStream(inputStream) the input stream portion of this recipe comes from a article. the sound file must be in the same directory as this class file. get the sound file as a resource out of my jar file I tried to make that example very simple so you can just copy that source code and run it, but my actual code is a little bit different, primarily because I need to read my sound file out of a jar file, instead of reading it as a file on a filesystem.įor the sake of completeness, here's the actual method from my current Java application that plays the sound file by reading the file as a resource from the jar file I create when I build my application: play the audio clip with the audioplayer classĪs you can see from this source code, it's pretty easy to create a basic Java sound file player. create an audiostream from the inputstreamĪudioStream audioStream = new AudioStream(in) InputStream in = new FileInputStream(gongFile) String gongFile = "/Users/al/DevDaily/Projects/MeditationApp/resources/" open the sound file as a Java input stream * AudioStream and AudioPlayer code comes from a example. * A simple Java sound file example (i.e., Java code to play a sound file). Here's the source code for my Java sound file example:

play sounds in java

In this case the sound file I'm going to play is an "au" file, but I believe this same technique works with most other sound file types as well. (Note: I initially found this technique described at, but the code below is taken from my project.)

Play sounds in java how to#

My Java sound/audio example: I'm working on a simple "meditation" application that plays a sound after a certain period of time (the sound of a gong), so I thought I'd share some source code out here that demonstrates how to play a sound file in a Java application like this.











Play sounds in java